Write about the following topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The past few years saw a massive rise in green energy. One of the most prominent examples is solar power, particularly for domestic use. The mechanics include using the sun as a fuel to power solar plates and converting that energy into electrical. Most of the population are proponents of powering their houses using these ways, albeit there are a few disadvantages too which I will cover in this essay. The use of non-renewable sources has been on the rise which is causing some serious damage to the climate and the ozone layer of the Earth. One of the most eminent examples is the Industrial Revolution in the 18th century when the British started using coal to power trains and factories. Therefore, our Planet's temperature started rising causing destruction followed by agony. If solar energy is used, there is a 0% carbon footprint. Moreover, one house can be powered by a 10 Kilowatt solar system installed in a house which will reduce electrical costs massively. If we talk about the disadvantages, there are a few to list like the high costs of solar energy. Due to high investment, a very less population can afford this luxury. For instance, those living in third-world countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, etcetera, have quite low incomes and find it quite difficult to make ends meet. Hence, owning solar power gets quite impossible. Additionally, the batteries which are used to store energy are being produced using sources that are not good for the environment. To give you an idea, lithium is mined to manufacture batteries which inhibits lots of danger. In conclusion, if governments around the world work together in funding and subsidizing these projects, the advantages could outweigh the disadvantages.