Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

We are living in a technological world where most of our lives are dependent on smart devices and some children now spend a large portion scrolling on phones, in my opinion, this has a detrimental impact on their health and social lives. Social and gaming apps are now the main reasons why children are addicted to their phones. For starters, in the past, phones were equipped with some basic commands like calling and receiving text messages, it was likely that children in those times interacted with them. Smartphones nowadays are packed with features to minimize work time and also come with addictive applications. Apps like Facebook and TikTok. For example, use artificial intelligence to profile your favorite content to grab their attention which keeps them hooked for a long duration. Besides gaming apps, once they start a game, it's hard to stop because most games are designed to be addictive, claiming more rewards by progression which many kids are eager to go on nonstop and do more harm to them. I believe most addicts would experience negative effects with the blue light coming from phones which can damage your eyes, resulting in irritation, numbness, and irritation. Plus cell phone addiction can also affect your sleeping habits, mood swings, and feeling down every morning. Having a lot of online friends instead of real-life friends can reduce your social skills like communication, negotiation, and problem-solving skills which have less chance to learn in the real world. In a nutshell, social and gaming apps are the main issue for extensive use of phones over a long period, and this results in various health problems and reduces children's social skills.