The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, companies are losing vast amounts of money due to losing their goods as a result of transportation accidents. Although it is true that regularly monitoring the driving skills of transport owners will contribute to the safety of transportation of cargo, I would argue that this approach is not the most superior solution and there are other, more effective measures to deal with the problem. One of the most prominent reasons for cargo transportation accidents is drivers ' sleepiness rather than their driving competence. Logistics companies frequently allow their transport agents to drive trucks longer than the international norm, which is eight hours a day. As a result of this violation, truck drivers occasionally fall asleep and crash their vehicles. Instead of conducting regular driving tests, governments could more strictly control the amount of time a driver is on the road and impose significant fines on those companies that violate driving time policies. It should be noted, however, that verifying a driving licence by conducting annual tests could also lead to fewer accidents. For example, this would ensure that drivers who recently started suffering from physical or mental diseases are identified and not allowed to drive for a certain amount of time or permanently. However, implementing this policy requires large amounts of investment to pay for instructors who conduct the tests, which many countries cannot afford. Additionally, this would cause large queues for driving tests, which obviously would stimulate higher dissatisfaction among people. In a nutshell, forcing drivers to pass annual driving tests is one of the ways to ensure transportation safety. But given that it is a highly resource-demanding approach, I believe governments should look at more effective and efficient solutions to tackle the problem.