In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. This has adverse effects on families, individuals and the society. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion

Food is a principal need in human life. Some people believe that it is better to have international junk food rather than countries' specific meals, while others claim replacing fast food with countries' own cuisine has a negative impact on families, individuals and society itself. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter. I feel this way for a number of reasons, which I am going to illustrate in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, having junk meals will harm family gatherings. In most countries, families gather on Sunday to have their traditional meals. If they have snack food instead of traditional cuisine, this ceremony will lose its meaning. For example, in my family, we always gather to have our traditional meal “plov” on Sundays. All the family members come on this day to have it and this is like a ceremony for us. Once we replaced it with other international meals such as a pizza, but in the end, no one was satisfied with the meal and most of them went earlier at home. Everyone can eat junk food on their own, but classic meals should be a must for family gatherings. Last but not least, new generations will not know the way of cooking traditional meals, if they are replaced with junk foods. Everyone learns anything by practising. If no one in the family cooks traditional meals, their kids will not know about the meal and the way of cooking them. My nephew’s experience is a compelling example of this. When my nephew was nine years old, no one in his family cooked our traditional meals. He mostly ordered the meals, since his parents worked all day. Hence he only had our local meals on Sundays when he came to his grandparents. He had no idea how to cook our local foods and I think if new generations do not value our traditional food, this will affect negatively our society. All in all, I definitely think that international junk meals should not be replaced with local foods, since it has an adverse impact on families, individuals and societies. This is because traditional meals are a must in family gatherings, and new generations will not value our traditional meals.