Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a common truth that children are spending hours every day on their smartphones, which means reading books or doing sports is taking less part in their leisure time. While some people consider that the increment in the time children spend on their phones is a positive trend, I believe that this development would definitely cause a negative impact. With the rapid development of technology, mobile phones are playing an important role in modern life. Hence, children have no choice but to use their smartphones to meet their daily needs. Not only do they have to use phones to communicate with friends but also to ride public transportation. However, easier access to networks brings the possibility that children may be addicted to social media and waste more time browsing websites. That's the reason why Tik Tok is enjoying popularity among youth. In my view, children using more hours on their smartphones is definitely a negative development and it should be controlled by their parents. Firstly, with the more time children spend on their phones, they tend to ignore the impressive things in daily life. Staring at a square screen, they may be blind to the beautiful scenes on the way, the interesting story in books and the pressure doing exercises can bring. Secondly, as the reason mentioned before, being addicted to social networks can't act as a beneficial factor in children's growth. This social media on smartphones manipulate children and associates meaningless content with popular culture, which leaves children with a thinner spiritual world. In conclusion, the more hours children spend on their smartphones, the more numb they will become. In this case, I believe this trend is undesirable.