These days students prefer to live on campus while studying at college or university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays students prefer to stay in hostels while pursuing their degrees at college or university. This trend has several benefits such as reduced travel time that can be invested in studies; however, it can have certain disadvantages as well like youngsters might get indulged in inappropriate activities like drinking, and smoking as there is no one to keep a check on them. The major advantage of staying on the university premises is saving a lot of time that can be utilised in studies and extracurricular activities. Take for instance, if a person has to travel for an hour to reach the institute, he will be exhausted by the time he reaches his class, and will make him less interested in the session. Additionally, when youngsters start living on their own, they will learn to perform all their daily activities, and manage their finances which will make them more responsible and independent. Hence, residing in college-provided accommodations can be very beneficial. On the other hand, there are multiple disadvantages of living in college hostels. Not everyone is strong enough to stay away from family. There are people who are truly emotionally invested in their families and culture, so it becomes quite challenging for them to move into a new space. For example, homesickness, and exam stress can take a toll on their health. On top of that, students might get under a bad influence. No one can deny the fact that colleges are the places where habits like smoking, and drinking take birth. Thus, living on campus can make an individual alone and develop lifelong bad habits. To conclude, there are various pros and cons to residing in campus-provided spaces as mentioned in the aforementioned statements. It can either help people develop as an individual or can make them ignorant as well. Though, I strongly recommend living in hostels.