The population of major cities around the world is increasing very fastly. Why is this the case and what measures could be taken to solve this issue.

The number of people living in the main cities of the world is rising very rapidly. This is due to high birth rates and a very healthy society. Some of the possible solutions are to restrict the number of children being born and promote the education of the girl child. Overpopulation is caused by lots of children being born at the same time. When there is no adequate information on family planning, women tend to give birth to many children thereby contributing to a speedily growing population which leads to a shortage of resources that can affect the economy of a country negatively. In addition, a society that is healthy and fit will lead to lower mortality levels. This also increases the number of people living in a particular area at a time. For example, in societies where people have a healthy diet and work out regularly diseases are less common. Therefore, the population of that community will be on the rise. There are so many ways to reduce this problem such as raising awareness for both partners on the importance of having a smaller family and the dangers of having several children at the same time. This can be achieved by providing affordable and accessible birth control methods to help people manage family size. Furthermore, promoting education for the female child is also necessary to reduce population sizes. Educated women are more likely to marry later because they will be so occupied with pursuing their careers and this will then lessen the population size. For instance, China has been able to combat this issue by imposing a fine on anyone who gives birth to more than two children. In conclusion, the problem of overpopulation is a global phenomenon that requires intermediate intervention which can be achieved by making birth control methods easily accessible to women especially in rural areas and also by offering more educational services and job opportunities for career-driven women.