The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public health is always of paramount importance to any nation. However, it is believed that individuals’ health is on a downward trend in the future. From my perspective, this practice is harmful to a certain extent due to the degradation and pollution of the surrounding living environment. This essay will elaborate on my viewpoint. Perhaps for many, this standpoint is convincing because of several reasons. First, It is possible that unhealthy lifestyles, such as poor diet and lack of exercise, have contributed to a rise in chronic diseases, including heart disease, diabetes, and cancer. Particularly, as the population ages, these diseases are becoming more common and will put a strain on healthcare systems, potentially leading to a decline in overall health standards. To exemplify, having cancer in Vietnam depletes most of the cells in the body and reduces the life expectancy of residents. Second, another factor that may contribute to the decline in health standards is the increasing prevalence of mental health disorders. To be specific, the pressures of modern life, including work stress and social isolation, have led to an increase in anxiety and depression. In addition, this will also put a strain on healthcare systems, potentially leading to a decline in overall health standards. Despite the above valid arguments, I still contend that this is a wrong perspective. The most pertinent point is that individuals should invest in preventative measures and improve access to healthcare, particularly for vulnerable populations. Undoubtedly, healthcare systems should prioritize preventative measures and early intervention, rather than only treating illnesses after they have developed. In fact, someone once said: prevention is better than cure because if the disease individuals encounter develops, a legion of bad cases will happen. Another justification is that the legal bodies should encourage healthy lifestyles through public health campaigns and policy changes, such as increasing taxes on unhealthy products and subsidizing healthy food. Interestingly, healthier items should be increased in price and preventive items should be discounted and disease prevention incentives should be promoted more. In reality, in the time of covid-19, the government has done a good job spreading the message of 5k and most people apply it to avoid covid. In conclusion, it is indisputable that not only unhealthy lifestyles but also the influences of mental disorders-related problems reduce citizens’ life expectancy. Nonetheless, both the government and the civilians should raise awareness of disease prevention for better health.