Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different perspectives regarding how to efficiently lower crime rates, while some are in favour of extending jail time to either keep criminals away from the public or deter people from breaking the law. I tend to agree with the others who propose other methods to achieve the same goal, including providing vocational training in jail to equip them with competent capacities, since it could help them to build a stable life by the time they complete the services in jail. To begin with, harsher punishments for those who commit illegal activities could keep potential hazards away from the public, moreover, it could prevent others from imitating their behaviour. For example, many residents in Taiwan are arguing that law enforcement departments are too gentle on the matter of drunk driving, leading to a continually growing number of deadly car accidents, which cause hundreds and thousands of vivid lives. To tackle such issues, the local government harsher the correlative regulations, not only extending the length of prison sentences but also increasing the fine to sky-high. After a few people were put behind bars due to ignoring traffic rules, the associated incidents started to display a downward trend. On the other hand, there are other methods that could profoundly demolish a great number of people who conduct wrongful behaviour. One of the cogent ways is to provide vocational training in jails, which could equip them with competent skills. Not only can it helps individuals to have a stable income in the future, but benefit societies with the perks of a larger group of people making contributions to the world. For example, many prisons in the USA provide higher education in jails, which allows people to get degrees as prisoners. Some of them turn into respectable people who have outstanding performances as attorneys or businessmen, and use their professional knowledge to help others. To summarise, punishments for those who break the law are essential, since it makes people aware of the mistakes they have done. However, being detached from the world for too long will make them hard to fit in and force them to pick up what they left and be sent back to jail eventually. Therefore, I totally agree that regardless of what put them behind bars, they deserve a second chance to correct their mistakes and live a good life based on their hardworking.