More and more business meetings and business training have taken place on the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

The Internet has been the platform where business seminars and appointments are organized, especially since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. This phenomenon has both sides which are going to be pinpointed in this essay. On the one hand, there are several upsides associated with cyber conferences and training programs. The most striking one is time efficiency. It means that they help reduce the time for travelling back and forth to meeting venues. In addition, attendants do not have to spend a significant amount of time on preparations and thus are able to take full use of their time for multitasking, addressing personal matters while in the meetings, for instance. Another noticeable merit comes from the fact that cyber tools can be taken advantage of for better performance. For example, Zoom, a renowned online meeting platform, offers a function called ‘Breakout Room’ which enables the separation of participants into private rooms where they can discuss in privacy with related parties before presenting their ideas. On the other hand, meetings hosted via online platforms can relate to a number of downsides. Firstly, it might cause several troubles for senior employees who are generally computer illiterate. The reason to justify this argument is that older workers are usually not quick learners; hence they can not keep up with the constantly changing and updated technology market. As a result, they cannot deeply understand the way meeting-supported applications work as well as master using all recently emerging cyber meeting modes. Furthermore, the efficiency of interaction and information exchange cannot be ensured just by meeting online. It can lead to a situation in which the attendants get bored and distracted due to not being compelled to stay focused on what the hosts are trying to convey and even misunderstand seriously the company’s strategies or upcoming schemes. For a more severe script, employees with insufficient or distorted insights can also damage the revenue and the reputation of the whole company. In conclusion, hosting a business meeting and training session on the Internet can be advantageous by virtue of more efficient use of time and useful online functions, yet its demerits including difficulties for the senior and hurdles for interactive activities are also worth noticing. Therefore, corporate institutions should take into consideration every aspect according to the current circumstance to choose a suitable method.