It has been suggested that primary school children should be taught how to grow vegetables and keep animals. To what extent the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

It's been a contention of what should we teach to our school grader children whether to do vegetable gardening or engage in animal care. I would argue that both are essential for the growth and development of our growing children since doing gardening can develop basic skills while keeping animals hone a child's emotional quotient. Introducing basic knowledge of vegetable growing to our school graders helps them develop important basic skills; being patient, responsible, and caring which are crucial in children's social, emotional and cognitive development. School programs, such as gardening are done in a group, together they will cultivate the soil before planting a seed and nourish it daily with water until it grows. This process is all done in a patient manner, consistent and with love in order to produce food on the table without this the vegetable plant will die. Hence, children will be more encouraged to do this type of activity with other children as well, thus improving their socialization skills. On the other hand, keeping animals at home will develop children's emotional quotient towards animals. Having a pet at home, for instance, a dog(which has loving-natured) will boost their emotions of love for the animal, however, it does not limit only to one animal but to the general population as observed. As a result, a child that exposes to this type of environment usually has a loving, caring and responsible upbringing. Giving them an edge over other children who are not exposed. In contrast to childs',safety some animals are not safe to care for, albeit there's always an option like choosing only those small animals and safe for the child. In conclusion, I am of a balanced opinion as both have plausible advantages, compared to their disadvantages for safety issues. I would argue that learning vegetable gardening and animal keeping is vital for a child's growth and development.