In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages to study abroad?

The world has seen a huge increase of students that choose to do a university degree abroad lately. By doing so, students from developing countries are able to attend classes in the most prestigious universities around the world, however, they can face difficulties with cultural differences. Besides that, in my opinion, students that choose to go to universities abroad end up much more prepared for adult life, so the advantages really outweigh the disadvantages. The main advantage of studying abroad is that the student can really focus to attend top tiers universities worldwide, which are usually located in developed countries, such as The United States, United Kingdom, and Australia. Having a degree from a well ranked university would boost the student curriculum, putting them in a favorable position when searching for a job opportunity. Last year, a friend of mine lost a position in a big company only because the other candidate had graduated from a prestigious University, better ranked than his. Therefore, besides providing a lot of personal growth benefits, the main advantage of studying abroad is that the student can pursue their degree in the world’s best universities, which will provide them with great job opportunities in the future. On the other hand, cultural differences could be considered the main disadvantage for those who chose to study abroad, especially when it comes to food, religion, habits, and relationships. Sometimes it can be hard to fit in because each country has its own particularities, and these could be tough to overcome. When I was younger, I lived in another country for 6 months in an exchange program. During the time I spent there, I remember the hardest part was to get adapted to the food and local habits regarding meals, because locals were not used to have dinner there. For these reasons, cultural differences are the hardest part about moving abroad. To conclude, there is an undoubtable trend of students that have been moving abroad to pursue their university degree. Moving abroad have a lot of advantages, like being able to choose the best universities in the world, but also some disadvantaged, like cultural differences. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, because students will have a great personal growth, besides better job opportunities, and will probably adapt themselves very quickly to the cultural differences.