In the furture, buses, cars and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside will be passengers. Do you think the advantages driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technology has been improving cars, buses, and trucks to make them autonomous in the future, so drivers would not need to worry about traffic. Driverless vehicles will be extremely safer for individuals, despite some negative impacts on the economy. I strongly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this upcoming trend. First and foremost, safety is the most important aspect of this new development since the majority of the accidents are caused by humans today. Further, the advantage of an autonomous vehicle is that nobody will be driving, so external issues such as noises, consumption of alcohol, busy traffic or other distractors would not be a problem for their performance. For example, airplanes, which have their route previously programmed and do not need the pilot attention all the time, have proved to be the safest transport. To summarize, accidents will decrease, but the economic impact of this new technology is also something to consider. Although the clear advantage of protecting passengers’ life, this new trend can reduce job opportunities in the transportation field. Today, a diverse range of professions exist when it comes to cars, buses, and trucks, like bus and taxi drivers which will not be necessary in the future. For instance, a governmental analysis has illustrated that due to the spread of autonomous vehicles popularity in the future, unemployment numbers will increase by 15%. Therefore, an impact on world’s economy must be predicted with job opportunity rates going down. In conclusion, driverless transport is an upcoming trend that the society cannot avoid anymore. As explained, such modernization is going to negatively affect the opportunities of job in the transportation field, however, the safety advantage of reducing accidents and protecting individuals’ life certainly outweigh this disadvantage.