Some believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school while others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

We live in a world today where learning your native language is not enough, some people believe that pupils should be taught languages at an early age; however, others think that they should be learned later. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument in detail, and provide evidence as to why learning it at a young age is superior. On one hand, individuals who take the first view argue that children are better at learning something new in comparison with adults, they have the ability to acquire knowledge of a new tongue easily and one of the reason is that they don't have as many responsibilities as grown-up people; therefore, they should be taught at a young age. Moreover, in many countries some subjects in higher education are presented in a foreign tongue, thus, it would be difficult for students to study the topic while learning the language, for example, in Algeria, Tunisia and Morocco, 70 per cent of science majors are given in the French language. On the other hand, supporters of the other side think that it is not fair to force kids to learn new languages, because some of them are very complicated and difficult to grasp, for instance, Russian has a wide range of grammar rules as well as a complex vocabulary; therefore, it doesn't seem logical to oblige a 6 years old child to learn it when it is already hard for adults. Furthermore, it is preferable for pupils to spend their free time playing with their friends or practising new sports rather than solving homework in a foreign language, also, some parents already complained about how it is tough to help their children to solve those tasks. To conclude, there are convincing arguments both for and against teaching languages at an early stage; however, I believe that it would be beneficial in the long run if they are taught earlier.