Write about the following topic. In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 254 words.

Smoking has been gaining traction over the last few decades. Many argue that public smoking should be banned and if required to smoke, smokers should vacate the building. I agree with this opinion and will share my reasoning in this essay. Firstly, passive smoking is injurious to health. When someone smokes in a bar or a restaurant, any person around them would also inhales the smoke, which is termed passive smoking. In addition, children in public spaces will also be impacted by passive smoking. For instance, it is proven by many studies have that passive smoking causes similar health hazards as smoking. Hence, it is evident that public smoking causes severe damage to society, including individuals who restrain from smoking. Secondly, nicotine-induced smoke leaves a bad odour in the room. The bad odour also spreads to other rooms in the building through the centralised air conditioning system, which is very common in many buildings. Prolonged exposure to this smell can create a feeling of discomfort, including nausea. For example, many participants in a survey suggested that they prefer to work or meet in a place which is not used for smoking to escape from this unpleasant experience. Clearly, smoking inside the building is causing a negative experience for people around and sometimes makes them sick as well. In conclusion, smoking is a fad that is gaining popularity. However, many call for strict rules for smoking in public citing health concerns and discomfort. I agree with this stance and also feel that people should smoke outside the building if they want to smoke, thus not impacting others.