A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problem if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

The advancement of the tourism industry makes a sizable profit for popular tourist destinations around the world. Although those cities ’ economies and employment can be boosted, it can have adverse effects on the environment and cost of living. Being attractive to tourists provides cities with many advantages. Firstly, it is a source of revenue. Since tourists spend money on a wide variety of activities, cities ’ budgets increase and their economies boost. Grater employment possibilities is the second advantage of tourists. As a result of various visitors’ needs being met, many jobs have been created to meet their expectations. For instance, most of the cities have unspoiled nature that draws tourists and are more likely to have better job opportunities related to the tourism industry, compared with other cities that are not popular tourist destinations. Tourism has far more disadvantages than advantages. To begin with, it threatens the environment by building hotels and restaurants. Since most new buildings are situated on jungles, many trees should be cut down, damaging wildlife habitat. Moreover, more visitors lead to more waste and litter. It causes irreparable damage to the environment. Aside from that, the cost of living is rising.Providing visitors requirements instantly is costly. Thus, it has adverse effects on the cost of living in the long run. To clarify, the apartment rent piece is influenced by the rent of a short-term accommodation. In conclusion, the popular tourist destinations facilitate the annual revenue and job opportunities of the cities. However, at the time, damage and ruin the environments and increase the cost of goods and accommodations. Therefore, drawbacks overweigh advantages.