Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undertaking research is imperative for a country’s development. Because it will provide more advanced knowledge and progress for the development projects. In this case, the government and private sectors are the key players in doing scientific analysis. However, on some grounds, I believe that it would be appropriate if the government gets control and responsibility for those experiments. First, when compared to the private sector and the state on the ground of their ultimate purpose, it is noticeable that the business sector is always chasing profit rather than the state sector. For instance, if one food company need to do some experiments on their food products, then is doubted their impartiality. We have experienced that there are more food products which are including chemicals that harm the human body. Therefore it is difficult to trust the inquiry of the private sector. On the other hand, state is the ultimate guardian of the citizens of the country. Hence state has the sole responsibility to provide safeguards on behalf of the people. Furthermore, most of the testing which is related to science should be befitting to society as well as the environment. In order to do that its advantages and positive effects should cause the betterment of both perspectives. Nevertheless, it does not mean that the state should cut down all opportunities of doing academic work. Although it should be balanced it needs to be transparent. For example, most drug companies misuse these opportunities. To sum up, I would think that it is not realistic to remove the chances of the non-government sector from the research work. But there should be a proper monitoring process for these kinds of tests and it is better to have more control power from the side of the government. Finally, a strong check and balance method need to be placed on research to guarantee productivity and ethical standards.