An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery/ plastic surgery. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, plastic surgery stems from the increasing public demand for beautification. From my perspective, this tendency arises from several reasons, including the desire to consolidate their appearance and enhance their self-confidence and it has detrimental effects on holistic well-being. There are two diving factors why more and more individuals have the propensity to undergo cosmetic surgery. Chief among these is that some individuals want to address their physical imperfections. Specifically, with the increasing popularity of content on social media, users are frequently exposed to pictures of good-looking males and females who are prestigious as a beauty standard. Thus, some compared themselves with those individuals and may make a decision to go under the knife to promote their self-esteem. Undergoing procedures such as breast augmentation, nose reshaping or liposuction, as a result, will bring people a sense of satisfaction and confidence in themselves. Consequently, they can feel more motivated to communicate with others in their community as well as engage in the entertainment industry. Despite the aforementioned reasons, I believe that this tendency has an adverse bearing on their overall well-being. This is because cosmetic surgery has numerous risks, including infection, scarring, and complications from anaesthesia. Therefore, their physical health will significantly deteriorate. On the other hand, this propensity can have detrimental impacts on their mental health. It is undeniable that, when they undergo cosmetic surgery that stems from unrealistic beauty standards or the pressure from society which constantly alters, people will be obsessed with perfecting themselves and feel depressed if they consider that the alteration is not up to that standard. In conclusion, with the increasing popularity number of people choose cosmetic surgery as they desire to alter their appearance as well as bring a sense of confidence to them. I am of the opinion that this trend can pose a threat to an individual's comprehensive health.