Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about how to respond to a bad situation. One portion of people argues that accepting is the best way instead of trying to do better. This essay will explain both of these perspectives and provide my own opinion. On the one hand, when people are exposed to an unpleasant experience they immediately go to the acceptance state because it gives them the peace that they need to carry on. For example, when an Indonesian elementary student got a bad score, they will say “Never mind, that’s ok” and then, she moves on to her other activities. Moreover, according to the research done by a team at the University of Indonesia in 2020, acceptance approaches are proven to reduce stress in a short time. Many grounding techniques such as deep breathing, walking on bare feet, etc help the body to process, readjust the emotion, and refocus the brain. Thus, as stated before, after acknowledging a bad incident, people can recover quickly and be able to continue their day. On the other hand, people believe they should keep improving their mistakes. For instance, when a secretary makes a wrong report and gets scolded, she has to revise the document as the first thing to do. In this population, most of them think bad situations should be handled as it is. Meaning as a matter of facts and logic. Dealing with the problem at hand, then processing their emotions later. Many labour and office workers tend to choose this method, because it is practical and requires little time. In my opinion, we should prioritise acceptance as the first act. Take an example in my office. Many fellows choose to keep trying or fixing their mistakes without proper pause to respond and the result commonly does not get any better. Not only do they need to redo their work, but also their mind keeps hankering for guilt or other negative emotions. Thus, avoiding processing your feelings is futile and brings more harm than good. In conclusion, whether someone believes the first or the second method, its benefit will depend on their own character. Everyone should pick what works for them. Probably, if you are a Feeling-type of person, then an acceptance way will suit you, while the opposite is for a more Thinking-type person.