In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What is the reason for this? How can people research this?

Since ancient times, people have been moving from one dwelling to another due to various reasons. Some move in as tenants while others as new owners. However, there has been a growing interest in finding out about the past of these houses by these new inhabitants. This essay will discuss their distinctive reasons as well as how they can get hold of that history. One of the factors driving the residents to dig out information on the previous residents could be some found clues from within that raise suspicion and curiosity. For,example some old buildings, are centuries old, which might be holding untold treasures and secrets. Hence, they have to research more about the past attached to it and those who once lived there. The other push could be that the dwelling might be haunted. This is common in some cultures, in African countries for instance, whereby only a traditional ceremony would be the only remedy for the building to be inhabitable. Lastly, the new occupiers might need to know how the apartment was constructed including the type of material used. In order to satisfy their curiosity and or find answers, the present tenants have to do some intense investigation and get more knowledge about the people who once lived there. They can ask questions that include; whether they owned the house or rented it, the real owners of the house and their occupations, beliefs and most importantly, why they left the home. The best people to ask would be the neighbours, family members or relatives if available. Social media could be handy if getting hold of them physically proves to be difficult. If they are out of reach, the elders of the village could be the right source. In conclusion, if circumstances drive new dwellers of a residence or building to research more about the dwelling they live in, neighbours, senior citizens and family members as well as the internet can be good sources of information.