Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

While the retirement age varies in different countries, it is believed by some that the elderly should remain at work if they can continue to do so. I completely agree with this idea as it can bring several positive benefits, provided that older people are mentally and physically qualified. To begin with, elderly people who continue working past retirement age can continue to maintain their mental health and well-being and reduce the pressure on society to support those who can no longer work. Many older people who have reached retirement age start to feel lonely when they lack employment and attention or affection from their offspring. Therefore, keeping them occupied at work can help to maintain their mental and physical health, preventing them from problems such as loneliness, isolation, and depression. Additionally, the government has to subsidize monthly living expenses for retirees, placing a significant economic burden on a country. If able to support themselves by continuing to work, the elderly population would somewhat alleviate the strain on a country's economy. Furthermore, businesses would benefit significantly if senior employees continue adding value to their company. One advantage is that older workers can take charge of instructing newly-hired employees. Thanks to their wealth of knowledge and experience, they are able to provide insights about work solutions and make more accurate assessments about junior workers. In addition, companies can save money allocated to former workers’ pensions and spare the time and effort to train new employees to replace future retirees. As a result, businesses can generate more revenue and take advantage of all human resources simultaneously. In conclusion, from my perspective it is justifiable for older people to stay at work as long as their mental and physical conditions can meet the jobs’ requirements.