Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world is now surrounded by many urgent environmental problems, and many people feel that raising the cost of fuel is one of the most effective ways of combatting them. Although I tend to agree with this viewpoint, I believe there are other environmental measures that need to be taken. Increasing petrol prices would help save the environment in many ways. As the number of vehicles on the roads is increasing dramatically, so is the amount of vehicular emissions released into the atmosphere. However, if governments increase fuel costs, this solution would serve as a deterrent for people who drive their private cars, reducing air pollution and ozone layer depletion. Besides discouraging people from driving their private cars, this would also generate income to make further investments in environmental initiatives. Given these potential benefits of raising fuel prices, is it hardly surprising to see so many countries applying it to practice. Apart from increasing the cost of fuel, we can also implement other solutions to environmental issues. For instance, on an individual level, people who want to help the environment should become more environmentally responsible by buying eco-friendly products, and reusing and recycling plastic bags. They can also take public transport as opposed to their personal cars, which produce toxic fumes. From a government’s perspective, it is essential to switch to green energy sources, such as solar and wind, rather than continuing to rely on gas and petrol. Thus, environmental protection goes beyond just raising fuel prices. In conclusion, though I attach great importance to the practice of increasing fuel costs, I think that both individuals and governing bodies should become environment-oriented in their mindset to tackle environmental problems.