Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, governmental organizations of many countries are increasingly concerned and find ways to prevent the proliferation of private vehicles. It is true that more and more nations organize vehicle-free days in which only public transportation is used to enhance the frequency of utilization by residents. From my perspective, this tendency is problematic. I will explain my preference in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, supporters of vehicle-free days have their justifications. First, implementing vehicle-free days reduces air pollution caused by vehicles. To elaborate, carbon dioxide is the primary air pollution emitted from vehicles that pose a risk to the health of humans. By breathing clearer air, people are able to enjoy life with no worry about lethal diseases such as respiratory or heart problems. Second, vehicle-free days will promote public awareness about public transit. The more people make use of public transportation, the less traffic congestion occurs. In reality, the traffic in Korea becomes less congested thanks to the appearance of the subway, which is highly liked by citizens. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the pitfalls of said matter. First and foremost, a significant number of individuals are unable to use public transport. To be specific, people who rely on private transportation for medical reasons will find it hard to approach medical services. This could seriously affect their health when they are unable to timely receive necessary medical support. Second, businesses, which major in delivery, will suffer financial losses during vehicle-free days. Delivery firms need to transport commodities to the houses of their customers, while public transport only runs based on a fixed schedule. In fact, delivery companies can damage a million dollars because almost all of them must temporarily close during no-vehicle days In short, it is undeniable that the merits of the vehicle-free day program are that it ameliorates air quality and promotes the concerns of people about public transit. However, I still oppose this practice because it seriously clogs business work and the travel of many residents.