12. The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous government's expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, most countries tend to allocate parts of their budget for the renovation of old buildings while some citizens advocate that this expenditure is supposed to be invested in the construction of new dwellings or road development. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this proposal The historical and cultural value of some old buildings is unparalleled and incomparable, If the authorities fail to protect those historical relics, it is a great loss for the preservation of national culture. In addition, the existence of old buildings strengthens people's sense of identity. Unlike the high-rises and skyscrapers, which almost look the same all around the world, those architectural heritages have withstood the test of time and display the unique architectural design of a region or period. In addition, every year, there are thousands of tourists both from home and abroad visit ancient buildings worldwide and appreciate their irresistible glamour. There is no doubt that thriving tourism earns huge profits for local governments and residents. Nonetheless, it must be admitted that the government's funding for the furnishing of new residences and road development definitely generates several benefits,for one thing, inhabitants have a chance to live in houses with a comfortable environment and reasonable layout. For another thing, more highways can be built to connect surrounding cities and suitable road planning can be implemented to satisfy the demands for public transportation. In spite of these, historical buildings deserve public funding for protection; otherwise, parts of human civilization would vanish in the years to come! In conclusion, I firmly claim that it is the obligation of the government to focus on the restoration of old buildings as they are symbols of traditional culture and reflect the history of a country.