In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that all vehicles, including cars, buses and trucks, will be automated in the future, which means that no driver is required. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages of this development. On the one hand, there are many reasons that automation functions have been introduced into car industories. One of the main reasons is to reduce the number of accidents, where the majority was caused by drunk drivers and senior drivers. Therefore, if all cars became automated, alcohol intake and age would not matter anymore. For example, in Japan, senior drivers are encouraged to return their driver licenses so that they can avoid undesired accidents and get some social benefits from the government. Additonally, saved time by means of intelligent vechicles allows for more productive and efficient work from destination to destination. However, this change poses some drawbacks. On the other hand, driving brings about huge benefits for humanity. In detail, drivers usually require intense concentration, a sense of direction, which stimulates brain function and develops cognitive skills. Moreover, some people will be influenced to a large extent. For instence, truck drivers and delivery drivers will highly likely suffer from being replaced with computer-aided systems. The demand on competent drivers will decrease, which leads to cheaper wages and more unemployment. In conclusion, all cars, buses and trucks will be automated in the future and only passengers are in these vehicles. Even though this development affects some people, especially truck drivers, I believe that the decreased number of accidents are more beneficial than downsides.