Write about the following topic: More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The number of children who are obese is increasing steadily, especially in developed countries. This is a serious problem which needs to be tackled soon. This essay will outline the causes and effects of this epidemic. The foremost cause of obesity in children is their poor diet. Children consume a lot of junk foods and sugary foods such as chocolate, pancakes and chips. These food types are both addictive and unhealthy for children. It is proven that poor diet is the number one factor influencing obesity in children. Moreover, the problem is accentuated by lack of exercise. They spend quite a lot of time on computer games, thus not spending enough time on outdoor activities that may help in losing weight by burning calories. Possible effects of this problem are health related issues and poor mental health. Overconsumption of unhealthy food results in health issues such as diabetes. Diabetes is induced due to unregulated sugar in the body, which can cause other serious ailments in the future. Obesity, on the other hand, induces a lot of stress and loss of self-confidence. Obese people are usually scared about their weight and often do not accept new challenges citing their weight. This creates a sense of low self-esteem, which is harmful to a child's mental health. For example, it is proven that 55% of obese children have some form of mental illness linked to their weight. In conclusion, obesity in children is a serious epidemic that needs immediate attention. In my opinion, the two main causes of this issue are poor diet and lack of exercise. This has serious implications including physical and mental health issues in children.