The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answeers and include relevant examples from your own knowlwdge or experience.

Science and Technology have made human life easier for centuries, till now. The primary goal of scientific discoveries is to make machines or processes that will help mankind overcome hindrances and live better. This essay will argue why this is true. Firstly, even a century ago, travel was slow, laborious, time-consuming and expensive. However, due to inventions like planes, motor cars and discoveries like fuel, the travel scenario changed drastically and became increasingly efficient. This development improved trade between cities and nations tremendously leading to thriving economies across the world, especially in developed countries. For example, the availability of raw materials which are required to produce international cuisines anywhere in the world is easily accomplished due to the efficiency of the transport system. Hence, the system of transportation is responsible for people being able to savour foods of other nations at a fraction of the cost, without having to travel there. Furthermore, disease prevention has also evolved because of the exponential growth of scientific research in this area, around the world. Diseases are diagnosed much faster, pandemics are anticipated and mitigated before they become too huge to handle. For example, the recent outbreak of COVID-19 was detected as a possible pandemic and steps were taken to control it through, not just behaviour management, but also research on innovative medicine and vaccine development. All these measures were fulfilled with considerable success and the pandemic was contained in the very year it started. Therefore, science has been instrumental in reducing sickness across the globe, increasing our longevity and making us healthier. To conclude, while this essay has cited two areas of scientific development, there are many more which show that life on planet Earth is better than ever before because of science in all areas of human endeavour. In my opinion, this area of study and its outcomes are gifts to mankind to achieve progress while solving problems of life on Earth