Tourism has become one of the fastest growing industries in the world. Million people today are travelling farther and farther throughout the year. Some people argue that the development of tourism has had negative effects on local communities, other think that its influences are positive. write an essay to discuss the effects of tourism on local communities including the reasons.

The tourism industry highly benefits from the advancement in technology because of the availability of easy and affordable transportation modes. A number of people travel around the globe throughout the year which benefits local communities by providing them with employment and contributing to the economic growth of the tourist place. While many would say tourism has adverse effects on local residents; however, in my opinion, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, no one can deny the fact that travelling is beneficial for the residents as it provides them with an opportunity to work and earn their living. Places with a high number of tourist spots solely depend on the income from visitors. Hotels, markets and food joints earn when visitors come to such places. For instance, Goa, a state well-known in India, is highly dependent on touristry. The local public in Goa makes their living through restaurants, water sports, rental vehicles, hotels and villas. Hence, the major advantage of this industry is employment opportunities. Additionally, whenever travellers go to a place, it boosts the economic and cultural growth of that area and brings communities closer. When anyone visits a new area, they are keen to buy local stuff as these cannot be found in their hometowns or maybe is much more expensive comparatively. Also, at times people get so attracted to the city that they end up staying there permanently. For example, one of my friends was on vacation to London but decided to make it his home because of their culture and way of living. Therefore, tourism is a great factor that helps a region grow. To conclude, as mentioned in the above paragraphs, travelling helps communities to grow. I stand firm in my opinion that the merits of tourism are far more than the demerits. Governments should help society to explore more about this industry which will be beneficial for an individual as well as the growth of the countries.