Nowadays, humans are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In the contemporary era, the amount of trash generated is progressively increasing. This is because of the throwaway society and the profit-driven tendency of businesses regardless of environmental pollution. Governments can play a crucial role by raising awareness of depleting natural resources and implementing more stringent environmental tax policies. Firstly, with the advancement in technology, consumerism is a rampant phenomenon in society. The public is inclined to be materialistic in their lives. They are indulged in buying brand-new products and then throwing the old off although, they are not worn out yet. It can lead to generating the amount of waste that demands long-term economic burdens on nations. Secondly, many businesses focus on economic growth with neglecting the tendency toward environmental issues. Even, they do not dispose of waste properly in landfill which directly poses a threat ecosystem and generate waste discharge problems. An active intervention of governments can help to solve the issues. One of the feasible ways is conducting a campaign to the public about resource depletion warning messages through a variety of media. They also encourage people to purchase environmental-friendly; sustainable products such as eco-canvas bags cooperating with the fashion industry. In addition, the government can establish environmental policy by force. For example, a green tax needs to be imposed on landfill corporations based on their intake of rubbish since decomposing waste can pollute the ground and produce methane. To conclude, keeping up with the latest trend in communities and businesses disregarding their responsibility to nature, ultimately lead rise in trash produced. Nevertheless, governments should take appropriate actions to ensure green and individuals' voluntary participation in ecological activities is required further.