Archaeology is partly the discovery of treasures of the past, partly the work of the scientific analyst, partly the exercise of the creative imagination. Do you agree or disagree?

Modern archaeology is a cross-disciplinary matter that requires involving skills from such areas as searching for the items from the part, analyzing them with contemporary scientific tools, and, in addition, some part of the creativity to imagine missed details. I completely agree with this statement and want to discover this opinion more in the essay. Firstly, the whole journey starts from discovering artifacts of the previous epochs that allow them to have hard evidence of traditions, rituals, and everyday life of our ancestors. However, to identify the age, authenticity, and relation to the specific culture, archaeologists need to involve scientists from different areas like geology, material science, and physics. For example, to understand how old is the found item, there is a nuclear analysis that identifies the number of atoms of radioactive isotope elements as each isotope has a specific time of conversion. As a result, scientists can identify the age pretty accurately up to 50 years. Furthermore, archaeologists have access to a very limited number of items as most of them were destroyed by humans or by nature. To build a full picture of ancient life, they need to make assumptions that are based only on their experience, and knowledge, together with existing data from this era, like literature, myths, and art. Altogether, this allows scientists to make creative, knowledgeable assumptions produced by their imagination. For instance, when we think about dinosaurs, there is no chance to discover the color of their skin as this is an organic substance, but scientists imagined them in such green and brown colors based on environmental conditions and modern animal skin features. In conclusion, archaeological discoveries involve knowledge and skills from different disciplines like searching for artifacts, researching them using scientific analysis, and, last but not least, a bit of imagination to fill the missed parts.