The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there should be fewer working days and longer weekends. In this essay, I will dive into the depth of why I disagree with this approach. Firstly, rapid economic and technological growth demands an increase in productivity and the amount of work a person can handle. This is because, in highly competitive working environments such as finance, medicine, and technology, companies usually have extremely high expectations with regard to the amount and quality of work that their new employee should handle. For example, junior emergency doctors are required to take long shifts and work on a daily basis due to the increasing amount of emergency cases that come to the hospital every day. Contrastly, if working days were reduced in such a stressful environment, patients and urgent cases might not be treated well, and many lives would not be saved. Secondly, studies have shown that with a good work -life balance, people can overcome the probable problems associated with work stress, such as physical and mental exhaustion, depression, and reduced creativity and innovation. This can be achieved by creating more relaxing, stress-free environments, and nowadays, many companies are adopting that criteria by providing their employees with financial rewards, vacation days, the appreciation they deserve, and much more. Moreover, bigger associations such as Microsoft now have policies restricting the amount of overtime weekly as a way of avoiding the exploitation of new employees and fresh graduates who often tend to overwork themselves to prove their place. In conclusion, despite the fact that overwork can lead to several mental and physical issues, the number of working days should not be reduced, but instead look for creating better working environments.