Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many cities today, what are some of the causes of traffic congestion, and what measures can be taken to help reduce it.

The growing traffic jam brings many metropolitan areas around the world to a standstill during peak hours each day. This essay will first explain how the intensive use of automobiles and inadequate public transport are the root causes of this issue, followed by a discussion of how improved public transport systems and better road designs are the most viable solutions. One compelling reason for traffic congestion in major cities is the widespread use of automobiles. In simple words, traffic congestion is primarily due to the huge number of vehicles, whose ownership has spread massively because of economic development. Many studies support this notion since during peak hours each occupant of a private car brings about 10 times as much congestion as a passenger on a bus. The condition is further aggravated by issues of road design and poor maintenance in the urban areas, a manner of driving that treats other road users with little respect, erroneous information on traffic jams, and inefficient management by the responsible authorities. The most effective remedy to this problem is to alleviate the condition through steps affecting the supply of public transport such as the quality and availability of the transport infrastructure, vehicles, and their management. This is because it increases the capacity for commuting. Besides, there are several faults in the present city road systems which require to be put right: it is essential to better the design of intersections, mark streets properly as well as equip them with appropriate signs, and correct the operating rotations of traffic lights, for instance. To conclude, many cities across the globe are struggling with the increasing problem of traffic congestion due to the growing number of private cars combined with faulty road designs and maintenance. However, if governments ensure quality public transport and develop current road systems, the problem can be ameliorated.