Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

UUndoubtedly, one cannot negate the fact that the topic of limitless hours spent by children in their day-to-day life has been at the forefront and widely debated due to its ubiquitous impacts. After careful analysis, I opine that it is a negative development for children because over usage of mobile phone is directly affected children ’s academic and physical growth. when it comes to contemplation about it the first reason at the zenith of my thinking pyramid is that in present times, phones are not simple device used to make calls and receive, now, it provides various updated features with high-resolution graphic card and function as a computer. It supports numerous upgraded application that attracts children to use it continuously. children can use mobile phones for learning and entertainment purposes. In recent times, children can play games on their phones, connect with friends socially, and even, get homework help online. Needless, to say that children spend a lot of their time on phones. For instance, in covid situation, schools are totally converted from offline to online mode, where they conduct online classes and force the children to stick for long hours, therefore, this routine becomes their habit. it can be lucidly observed that children are now back in school but they are not free from their mobile addiction. Another aspect of it is that there is a lack of supervision of the parents, many parents do not have time to seat with their children they simply leave their children with phones and give them complect access. the survey also supports this. A recent survey, carried out by an organisation working in the same field, has revealed that over usage of mobile phone is directly affected the mental and physical growth of children. Smartphone addiction also affects the academic grades of children. While it is also true that phone is used for a great deal of learning if it is used in an appropriate manner. In conclusion, today’s mobile phones give the best platform for entertainment purposes hence children are spending too much time on mobile phones. Unfortunately, this will affect their grades and health.