CONSUMERS ARE FACED WITH AN INCREASING NUMBERS OF ADVERTISEMENT FROM COMPETING COMPANIES. TO WHAT EXTENT ARE COSUMERS INFLUENCED BY ADVERTISEMENTS? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO PROTECT THEM?

Nowadays, the amount of advertisements rising from competing companies gradually reaches more users than ever before. Advertisements could set consumption trends and there are several methods to protect people from false advertisements. This essay will discuss the ways in which consumers can be influenced by the power of advertising and the ways to prevent the risks of it. Advertisements have the ability to orientate consumers’ decisions and all brands are taking advantage of it to promote themselves more widely therefrom. The image of advertisements that are repeated in front of consumers’ eyes will become a part of their memory, then they will start to be curious about it. A frequent exposure to a particular advertisement will increase the curiosity of consumers. For example, people will notice a brand of toothpaste when they see it anywhere with the recommendations of some celebrities, which is also a kind of advertisement. Then they will gradually turn their curiosity into a need and want to buy it. On the other hand, when the advertisements become over-exaggerated, it tends to hide the flaws of products and falsely inform customers. To be able to overcome these kinds of serious problems, the government should set up strict regulations over advertisements ’ contents. It is very difficult to manage the output contents from the companies, so the strict handling of violations, such as heavy fines or banning of the adverts on certain platforms, will be a warning to this industry. In addition, people also should know how to protect themselves against fake information by double-checking and skimming through reviews before purchasing any product. To put it in a nutshell, with respect to all views mentioned above, advertisements have their own merits and demerits. In order to protect people from low quality items, not only governments but individuals must also be alert and strongly condemn this behaviour of advertising companies.