Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labor. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that growth in technologies and automation have brought down the necessity of physical tasks done by humans, which in turn leads to the reduction of working hours. I completely disagree with the above statement. I believe that machines may tend to malfunction or may have performance issues without human intervention or support if fully automated. In addition, working for fewer hours eventually affect the day-to-day wages earned by people. To being with, although technological advancements and automation is a boon to mankind and it tries to replace manual labor but still, human interaction is mandatory to avoid errors or system crash. It is essential to oversee the robots or machinery to ensure not only human safety and to avoid issues that lead to severe loss at later stages of work. As an illustration, jobs like heavy lifting, tasks done on a sequential basis where personal supervision is imperative. Otherwise, if the system faces any issues with functioning that would go unnoticed without any human support, as a result, it will produce erroneous output. Furthermore, people who are working for daily wages highly depend on their daily source of income to lead a substantial life. In case of fewer working hours may not help them to earn ample money for their living. For example, Individuals working in factories, distribution centers, and contractors usually get paid on an hourly basis. Thus, in turn, they would find it highly difficult to meet their necessities by earning a low source of income. To encapsulate, the automation industry and technological upgrades may appear as reducing the physical jobs done by people but in the end, without any human assistance, there are high chances of a breakdown in the industry. This also creates a huge impact on people who are working hourly paid jobs.