As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom.

The significant development in technology has had a huge impact on modern society including education. The usage of computers in the modern education system is growing tremendously day by day. However, it has both positive and negative sides which will be expounded in this essay by discussing the usage of computers in repetitive tasks and the lack of evaluation of the student’s skills. On one hand, the ability to carry out repetitive tasks is one of the primary advantages of computers in education that human teachers cannot. A programmed computer can be utilized to perform various monotonous activities such as playing course-based videos, online tests, and other applications. For example, when I was studying my undergraduate in 2014, I used to carry out many tasks in the MATLAB application numerous times. Hence it is clearly understood that artificial intelligence can be useful in this way. On the other hand, since computers cannot understand human emotions, they do lack in evaluating the student’s ability to learn. It is imperative to analyze the pupil’s level of cognitive function before teaching them. Simply imparting the information does not foster learning. This is where the human teachers’ role becomes crucial. For example, a study conducted at SASTRA University in 2017 has found that artificial intelligence does lack in interpreting human’s simple emotions. Hence it is made clear that computers can never replace the teachers in foreseeable future. To encapsulate, although computers do possess abundant advantages, teachers have a significant role in education which is seemingly indispensable by computers in near future.