Many old buildings are protected to by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old building? Should history stand in the way of progress?

The importance of protecting old buildings had never been more discussed than today as the city’s progress continues to grow. The conservation of architecture is fundamental for the historical aspects of a country and can also make its country wealthier. In addition, their maintenance would not prevent the development of the cities in terms of social and infrastructural progress. First and foremost, maintaining old buildings ’ original architecture can be extremely important for a nation’s history, as it attracts many tourists. Furthermore, their conservation can improve the economy, as cities would be able to charge visitors to enter the most important attractions. For example, Europe, which holds plenty of conserved old buildings, has proved to be the most relevant tourist destination. To summarize, old builds can bring wealth to a country. In addition, history should not stand in the way of progress, because governments can create laws to organize the areas of the cities. Therefore, people will be allowed to build new houses and offices, but only in specific areas so no damage could be done to the protected old architecture. For instance, many countries in Europe, which conservated a multitude of old buildings throughout history, have shown the highest progress and development rates in the world. Consequently, history and progress are not enemies. In conclusion, even though many people say that old buildings should be replaced with modernized architecture, governments have created many laws to protect them. By conservating history, the tourism industry of a country increases and brings wealth. In addition, authorities will specify areas destinated for new buildings, so the oldest ones would not be knocked down.