In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

In many nations across the globe, young people who graduated from high school are encouraged to take a break by either working or travelling for a year prior to furthering their studies at universities. Several advantages result from taking a gap year yet certain setbacks are needed to be taken into consideration when making such decisions. In the following paragraphs, I would like to discuss possible outcomes that could be both positive and negative for our youth generation. One of the advantages of taking up a gap year to work or travel, one could experience the reality of life in contrast to living a sheltered life with parents or guardians. For example, one will need to make independent and quick decisions at times of difficulty or learn how to face challenging people who have ill meanings towards them. The Second benefit could be that the youth can learn how to manage their finances appropriately and not splurge on spending. Given that the youth are either travelling alone or working, they would need to learn how to optimize their spending and save up for future days. Last but not least, through travels and various works, their social networks will be widened by getting to know people from all walks of life. This will expand their understanding of adulthood and that there are various types of livelihoods that they could pursue in future and are not only limited to certain professions. On the other hand, there could be a possible danger of meeting the wrong crowd that could sway the youth to take up certain dangerous experiments such as drugs, or illegal activities. Such incidents could cause serious consequences for the youth if they get caught. Subsequently, given the degree of inexperience level and common overconfidence of the youth, they are prone to make wrong decisions on life -and-death matters while travelling which might result in life -threatening injuries or even death. To add to the setbacks, if the youth gain a decent financial income from work, they could develop the wrong sense of financial independence that if they could earn their current level of income, pursuing higher education would not be necessary. This could hinder the potential of what young people could achieve with better education. To conclude, young adults should make an informed decision and be well guided by a parent or guardian on whether to partake in a gap year by weighing up both advantages and disadvantages. Well-rounded Information is necessary on the type of work or place and route of travel that they would when making a sound decision to get the best experience. Precautionary actions can be planned to avoid unfavourable consequences and life goals could be set ahead to follow higher education.