In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

Automation covers more and more areas of people’s activity. Some say that vehicles are not an exclusion, and in the future, all of them will not require drivers. Meanwhile, others are concerned about will the pros of the development overweight the cons or not. It can be scary to think that we will not have control over a fast-moving truck or a bus full of people. What will happen to them in case of a unexpected computer error? Actually, roads are a very dangerous place even now. In each country, a significant number of deaths are caused by car or train accidents. An automated system, however, could be properly tested and fixed even without actual driving done – all inside a computer simulation. That is why I think such driverless systems will be a safer variant. Another point that needs to be mentioned is harming the environment. Currently, most vehicles are fuel-driven, which leads to harming the surroundings and the planet in general. I believe future automated systems will be fully electrified, so less harm will be done to the environment. Thus, even if there are some additional drawbacks, they will be fully outweighed by saving Earth in its current state. In conclusion, I want to say that I would feel much safer riding in an AI-controlled bus because there would not be a place for human mistakes. Fully automated roads of the future will also be gentler towards the environment because of powered by electricity rather than fossil fuel.