Some people believe that the climate of a country has the greatest influence on its culture (e.g. food, arts, music, clothing). Others believe that there are more important influences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The climate of a country is thought to have the most effect on its culture, such as food, arts, and many more. Some people, however, do not share this view and state that more significant factors should be considered while interpreting a nation’s culture. I tend to agree with the latter school of thought. At the outset, it is essential to explore different ways a culture is affected by climate. Evidently, the range and quality of food – one of the most defining aspects of any culture – is primarily determined by local climate. Take tropical and northern climates as examples. The former is ideal for growing citrus fruits and vegetable while the latter hardly allows farmer to grow plants, making them dependent on animal products such as livestock for subsistence. The same principle applies to cultural activity preferences of a particular country. People in the north generally give their preference to indoor pastimes like theater performances as opposed to outdoor festivals and carnivals in the warmer regions of the globe. Clearly, climate is a crucial factor in shaping culture. On the other hand, I would contend that culture of a country develops in much more nuanced ways. Religion has arguably the most profound impact on any culture. This is because many cultural traditions and customs are rooted in religious principles and beliefs that have dictated people’s way of life for centuries. True, not all modern cultures have directly been affected by religion, but their origins can be traced back to the framework of ancient belief systems that were for the most part religion-driven. One other equally strong determinant of culture is technology. Despite being a relatively new phenomenon, technology has radically restructured our lifestyles, traditions, and values, which invariably constitute our culture. In conclusion, though I admit climate has some bearing in the evolution of culture, factors such as religion and technology appear to have more substantial impact on it.