Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children are the future of the country, and they should be nurtured to have good morale and attitude. People argue that it’s the parent’s responsibility to educate them to become good members of society whilst others state it’s the duty of the school. Personally, I believe both parents and teachers should play their roles to make the kids grow as good people. On one hand, children spend most of their time in school with teachers while their parents are busy making ends meet. Consequently, the school has more opportunities to teach moral lessons. Most schools plan their curriculum to integrate social studies into the academic. In addition, the teachers can witness and monitor the children ’s interactions with them and with their friends. If necessary, they can inform the parents and work together to correct any mischief. On the other hand, parents are the role models for children. Kids normally are curious about their parents ’ personal experiences and learn from them. As a parent, it is a good opportunity to share their past as a kid and connect with their kids to make their parents - children relationship stronger. Besides, parents can adapt their parenting style according to their children ’s behaviours rather than one-size-fits-all teaching methods. I believe parents and teachers work hand-in-hand to nurture children. Parents don’t have enough time to stay and monitor the offspring while the school may not have the capacity to learn every child’s situation. Therefore, we can see most schools have parent- teachers feedback sessions to get to know the kids and provide what’s best for them. To conclude, both parents and schools have their roles to play to shape the children's morale and behaviours and it's impractical to throw the whole responsibility to just one party.