Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology inventions have tremendously affected our communication style with the rise of various applications. Technology offers more flexibility, accessibility and affordability in business dealings and personal interactions. Thus, the IT revolution in the communication sector is indeed a positive development. First, it is very evident that technology enables us to reach out to more possibilities. We can now connect with other people regardless of different time zone and geographical areas by using different social media channels and mobile applications. Similarly, it is more affordable as everyone who has a mobile and internet connection can access those channels and applications. In contrast, it was very costly to make cross-border contacts previously because the telecom sector was not as advanced as nowadays. For example, in the early 2000s, we can only make an oversea call via landlines. Although there are a few incidents in which some personal relationships turn cold as technology replaces the warmth and comfort of face-to-face communication, we can’t deny the fact that technology makes people from different places closer. Besides, technology enhances business relationships to a new level,especially during covid period when international travel is not possible. Businesses can convene meetings with their partners from different counterparts by using video conferencing tools. With the use of applications like Teams and Zoom for monitoring and interacting, work-from-home arrangements become possible. Thus, technology saves business communications from disruption due to Covid 19 outbreaks. To conclude, technology empowers personal and business relationships in many ways and it’s difficult to interact with others without the help of technology.