In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Young people in some countries prefer to have a gap year before they start a graduate program at university. They use this time for work or travelling. On the one hand, young people are challenged by the lack of life experience and numerous future students can not choose the right profession for themselves. In this case, the part- time unqualified job can give them money to cover their basic expenditures and time to think about life-goal plans. Furthermore, they can be employed and travel at the same time. This strategy allows young people to deal with stress caused by the importance of choosing a professional field and contributes to the good mental health of future graduates. On the other hand, a gap year can cause some problems for young people. A long-term vacation before studying, at some point, could have a negative impact on student's performance at university. Thus education at university starts, and they could find themselves struggling with skills necessary for study, such as analyses of huge amounts of information, academic writing and time management. To conclude, this essay agrees that a decision to have a gap year may have some advantages and disadvantages at the same time. However, the performance of a student at the university mostly depends on encouragement to study and self-discipline. Anyway, travelling and working before a graduate program can be a good chance to have life experience and benefit mental health.