Prevention is more important than curing. Researching and treating diseases is very costly, and so it is better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is well known that treating diseases is very costly and that preventative measures could diminish these health problems. In my opinion, I believe that investing in research and promoting healthy habits could be two leading effective preventative measures. Nowadays, research has become so relevant for finding cures for a wide variety of diseases. In addition, when treatment is found, doctors could treat the whole population before facing the virus. For example, many vaccines are administered to children as a preventative measure against some viruses, even before staying in touch with them. Moreover, these preventions have a direct impact on mortality rates, increasing life expectancy and saving millions of lives around the world no matter the region. On the other hand, there is currently an awareness of healthy habits, which has strong evidence that directly influences people’s diseases. While sedentary people have more risk of presenting heart diseases, healthy people have more possibilities to increase their life expectancy. For example, if people consume fast food, maintain a sedentary life and smoke, they may suffer a negative impact from these behaviours. Some of the preventative measures could be exercising frequently, taking care of diet, and consuming non-processed and fresh food. To conclude, for all of these reasons, I believe that investing time and money in prevention is crucial for the whole world in order to reduce health costs and increase life expectancy. If governments prosecute fast food chains, increase funding for hospitals and establish laws to promote healthy habits, the populations will experience an increase in their quality of life.