Most People in the world have to work to earn living. However, many people work only for the financial gain that involves, and not for any other rewards that a job can offer. What do you think the main considerations when deciding what job to take should be? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a general understanding that one should work to make a living and earn and be financially independent. It has been argued that the majority of our career choices focus more on financial rewards and ignore other outcomes of the chosen job. In my opinion, not only financial gains but also considerations on job satisfaction and physical and mental well-being are important when making a decision. While it is true that financial gains play an important role in a person's ability to live comfortably, consideration is to be given to ensure that I have the right skills and qualifications to contribute towards the scope of work required to be fulfilled. Otherwise,when one is deemed to not have the right expertise, it would be quite stressful and lose face. Adding on, it is crucial to analyse if one has a passion or a personality fit with the chosen type of profession. For example,an accountant needs to work largely with figures and often leads a sedentary lifestyle, whereas a person may thrive better in the creative nature of work and interaction with people. In such cases, regardless of the high salary that one may gain,a finance professional may bring little job satisfaction. Additionally,the workplace environment is also needed to be assessed. Oftentimes, the job applicant tends to choose monetary benefits over harsh or toxic workplace conditions. For an instance, when the workplace has poor health and safety protocols or high occupational hazards such as fall risks, own physical safety should be given more priority. Last but not least, it is always beneficial to check whether the workload would be sufficiently allocated to the team involved. Otherwise,when work and life balance is out of balance with long hours of work,it could lead to mental exhaustion and physical breakdowns. To summarise, in my opinion,many considerations such as having prerequisite skills, being able to lead preferred lifestyles, having proper care on health and safety,or having the right amount of workload are as equally important as financial gains that one could achieve from a chosen job.