Many people aim to achieve balance between work and life, but only a few people achieve it. What problems will be caused by poor work-life balance? How can its negative impacts be prevented?

Balancing one’s professional and personal life can be challenging for many people. Despite the essentials of it, only a few of them can reach the goal. Namely, people’s desire to succeed in their careers can push them to set aside their well-being. There are some problems that can be caused by this phenomenon, but there are also some ways to alleviate the issue. Some prevention can be introduced in advance to solve the problems. To begin with, a poor work-life balance has numerous negative effects on health, including a battle against chronic illness, and a high risk of burnout. Struggling with stress and anxiety ultimately leads to damaging people’s overall physical, emotional, and mental health in terms of their immune systems. Moreover, there is a potential possibility of cutting off ties with their family members. It is especially observed in heads of household who are burdened with maintaining livelihood for their family. The main reason is that most of them do not set boundaries between work and private life themselves. They concern continuously about their upcoming projects or answering company emails even after leaving the offices. However, there are some solutions to address the issues. Employers who are committed to providing a working environment that supports work-life balance for their employees can save on costs, experience fewer cases of resignation, and enjoy a more loyal and productive workforce. Less intensive working hours such as telecommuting, and flexible work schedules could be a specific exemplified in these cases. In addition, prioritizing one’s private life first and foremost will make one a better employee and person. For example, taking vacation time and shutting work completely off for a while can reduce their decompression levels of duties, and recover from severe burnout. Spending quality time with their loved ones such as their family members could be a possible avoidance way to neglect personal relationships. In conclusion, although this phenomenon may cause several problems, there are some solutions to tackle the issue. Thus, some deliberate action must be taken to improve work-life balance.