Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will no longer be necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In the digital era, many people believe that they can view historical objects and works of art anywhere with an Internet connection. Therefore, public museums and art galleries will no longer be needed. Personally, I disagree with this viewpoint. To begin with, it is undeniable that with the boom of the Internet, people can easily find whatever material they want. To be more specific, search engines like Google or YouTube not only enable individuals to access information about culture, art and history but also provide them with sufficient knowledge about that particular topic. Thus, many claim that we no longer need museums and galleries. However, I believe that the material regarding a certain object is different from the experience of being in the presence of the object itself which is unique and should be preserved. Furthermore, the designs of museums and art galleries usually reflect a country’s architectural style. When people visit a museum or gallery in a certain country, they not only enjoy viewing artworks and masterpieces but also learn about the cultural value and history of that nation. To illustrate, millions of people visit the Hue Museum of Royal Antiquities not just because of its huge collection of masterpieces about the Nguyen Dynasty and the Royal Family but because of the unique architectural style of the Vietnamese in the past. In conclusion, although knowledge about historical objects and works of art can be found on the Internet, the experience of knowing about something and the experience of being in the presence of that thing are two different perspectives. I believe that both of them are important and museums and art galleries are still needed.