Today children are surrounded by electronic devices such as personal computers, tablet computers, and smart phones, and they learn to use them at a very early age. What are advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Many kids these days have been spending most of their time with advanced technological gadgets like: smartphones and laptops at an early age. While this phenomenon is a concerning matter for society, it has both positive and negative sides, which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. Commencing with the benefit of using electronic tools from the early phase of life, it has been found that this practice enhances children’s interest towards technologies while proving to be of great assistance in their studies. For instance, the preoccupation of young ones with gadgets served them well when COVID forced schools to switch to online classes. Imagine how uphill the task would have been otherwise. In addition, nowadays each sector is integrated with artificial intelligence features and functions and having the pre-knowledge of modern technology would definitely support them in their career growth also. Nevertheless, using smart devices has an array of disadvantages such as vision problems and early onset obesity, which cannot be ignored. First and foremost, the utilization of smartphones and tablets is affecting the vision of young users earlier than it did in previous decades because these electronic devices release radiation harmful to their eyes. Studies have shown that 85% of children who use electronic equipment regularly need glasses by the time they are 5 years old, which illustrates the detrimental effect of these smart ‘toys’. Moreover, sedentary habits that these devices inadvertently promote are causing school kids to contract urban diseases like being overweight, heart disease, hypertension, Type 2 diabetes etc. Consequently, advanced techno hardware has an adverse impact on kids' health. To conclude, while electronic gismos offer many benefits to children, it is important to ensure that their use is balanced and monitored by parents or guardians. While these gadgets can be a valuable learning tool when used appropriately, it is essential to consider the potential negative effects as well.