Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

In recent years, work - life balance has become increasingly more difficult for numerous workers to manage. This essay will point out major causes and provide solutions for this trend. Regarding the reasons for the rising difficulty of achieving harmony between work and life, the most contributing factor is that jobs are becoming more demanding, increasingly requiring people to work long hours to prove their value. As a result of the current economic recession when massive layoffs are happening for many companies, those who remain are increasingly under the pressure to cover the workload both of themselves and of those who left and keep their business afloat. The increased tasks and responsibility means that these employees would have less time for socializing or self-care. Furthermore, technological advancements with the rise of remote work have blurred the boundary between professional and personal life. For instance, while people would have instant access to work messages through smartphones and working apps such as Slack and Microsoft Teams, they would also feel more difficult to switch off and disconnect from work, leading to feelings of burnout and fatigue. As for how to solve this imbalance, I suggest a combination of actions between the government and employees themselves. Firstly, the government needs to step in and establish legal frameworks to protect workers’ rights and benefits. One initiative is to limit the number of working hours to prohibit companies from exploiting their staff and promote a healthy work - life balance. To illustrate, China is the best example as their government established some regulations forcing Chinese companies to stop forcing employees to work long hours upon recognizing its negative influence on their people. Secondly, it is also important for every person to acknowledge the importance of setting up boundaries between business and personal life. The actions could range from muting notifications from workplace software during off-duty hours to denying employers’ frequent requests for overtime so there is more time for self-care or socializing with friends and family. In conclusion, the reasons for the struggle in achieving a work - life balance come from the demanding jobs in the current economic downturn situation and the thin line between professional and personal life due to working applications. The remedies to these issues might be for governments to mandate a maximum legal working hour and for individuals to take responsibility and set up a clear threshold between work and life.