It is sometimes suggested that primary school children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people propose that children at the elementary level should be taught how to grow vegetables and rear animals. I believe that the advantages of this proposal outstrip its drawbacks. Of course, one might argue that the skills and knowledge learned through this initiative might not be useful for children in the future, especially for those living in cities. This is because they are unlikely to work in agriculture, which also requires fewer and fewer workers due to the adoption of machinery. However, primary children can learn to be more responsible and empathetic for other beings by taking care of them. For example, they have to remember to water their flowers on a regular basis and feed their pets. This sense of responsibility and empathy are certainly important for their academic, and emotional developments and even their career later on. Opponents of this educational scheme might also claim that learning to grow vegetables and raise animals might be a waste of children ’s time, which should be used for gaining academic knowledge. Nevertheless, I would argue that at a primary level, it is even more important for kids to learn to develop other traits such as responsibility and empathy rather than academic knowledge. There is evidence that children who are responsible and have high EQ are more likely to be successful than those who are simply smart but not emotionally intelligent. Furthermore, by tending to their plants and playing with their pets, children learn to work with their hands and become more physically active, benefiting their physical development. In conclusion, there are some concerns about teaching children to grow vegetables and keep animals in terms of the usefulness of this program. However, it is my belief that primary school children should be given the opportunity to do these activities given the emotional, physical, academic and even career benefits that these youngsters can reap from such activities.